Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 08-01-2014, 12:44 PM   #1
MyKylie
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Can't decide on math curriculum!

I thought I'd settled on Singapore, but now I'm considering Math U See. My 7 y/o is a hands on learner. This our first year homeschooling, so I've no previous experience with anything. Any input on MUS or Singapore or another one I've missed?? (It can't be faith based)

Advertisement

K R M
MyKylie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 01:37 PM   #2
tallanvor
Registered Users
seller

Re: Can't decide on math curriculum!

We love Math-U-See. I have at least one hands-on learner, but this program has worked for all 3 of my kids.
tallanvor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 04:24 PM   #3
MyKylie
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
So does it really only cover addition and subtraction in the first years? It seems weird to me to not cover money, time, fractions, and all those other concepts as well or am I missing something? Do you use the video lessons?

K R M
Old 08-01-2014, 05:28 PM   #4
tallanvor
Registered Users
seller

We use the video lessons, but not so much at the younger ages. We did with my oldest, but now that I'm teaching it for the 3rd time, we don't. I am not sure my youngest has watched a lesson at all, and she's in Beta. But, she also has grasped everything quickly after I explained it to her. My oldest has watched pretty much every lesson, and some of them a few times. She has a harder time with math than the other two.