Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 08-30-2007, 07:56 PM   #1
Pea_inthepod
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Unhappy Brestfeeding help!!! New baby!!

OK....this is my first time breastfeeding, so this is all new to me.

My daughter, Abby, is 6 days old and it takes anywhere from 10-30 mins at the breast just to get her to latch on and start drinking.

She will root around, latch for a second, sometimes suck just enough to get my nipple out, but then spit it out. She also spits out any milk that she got. Eventaully (like i said above...10-30min later) she FINALLY figures out that she needs to just suck a bit longer and she will be able to eat.

And...the only way that I finally DO get her to eat, and after giving her a bottle of bm for just a second (enough time for her to start the suck/swallow/breath pattern). I then take that away and right away put her to my breast. Then she will start eating. Its like I have to remind her HOW to breastfeed!

Sometimes, she just sits there and throws a HUGE fit. She will lay there, root around, latch on for 2 seconds and then let go and get mad.

Im not having some huge let down in her mouth either....at least I dont think I am. Im still at the point where I am always engorged so I have to express a little bit of milk before she can even latch on, so that helps with letdown not being soooo forceful.

So what am I doing wrong??? Is she just a lazy/finicky eater?????? I am sooooooo frustrated!!! I just started crying the other day because she would NOT eat. I want to breastfeed my daughter, i dont want to have to pump like I did with my son!!!!

Advertisement

Old 08-30-2007, 08:05 PM   #2
Aimsley9
Registered Users

My Mood:
Re: Brestfeeding help!!! New baby!!