Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2007, 10:17 AM   #11
smapple's Avatar
smapple
Registered Users
seller
seller
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,135
Re: Has anyone Labored Naturally through pitocin?

I had a 19 hour labor with pitocin and had my water broken and managed without an epidural. I did have a narcotic towards the end, but honestly it only helped for about 15 minutes... but I made it through.

Advertisement

__________________
We have allergies- can't buy from or trade with smoking household. Sorry!
FS: Girls Spring/Summer- Gymbo Shirts, Carter's PJs & More!
smapple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 10:19 AM   #12
BoysMama's Avatar
BoysMama
Registered Users
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 567
My Mood:
Re: Has anyone Labored Naturally through pitocin?

OK I have had pitocin all three times as I do not go into labor on my own. I have never done it completely nautral though I have never had an epidural.(they scare me) With my first they gave my staydol (sp?) I hated it. It stopped my labor for over an hour and I was never able to get into a regular pattern again. It also made me VERY sleepy, as in I couldn't open my eyes and I literally had to force them open when DS was born. With #2 and #3 I had nubain, definatly my drug of choice. I only had 1 dose with #2 and I did have 2 doses with #3 but that was because of discouragement more than anything, after 3 hours of labor I hadn't dialated at all. Of course then I went from a 4 to delivery in 1 hr. so I would have been ok without the 2nd dose.
I would try natural but if you can't do it try an option like nubain instead of an epidural.
__________________
Kajsa - Wife to Cody, mama to Kyler 6, Caleb 4, Caden 3 Kian 1
and Kerry (finally got a girl!!)
BoysMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 10:23 AM   #13
iKim's Avatar
iKim
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York, no, not the city.
Posts: 13,059
My Mood:
Re: Has anyone Labored Naturally through pitocin?

I did, it hurts but it was sooooo worth not taking pain meds.....
__________________
Whimsical Wonders, Tutus by Kimberly
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
iKim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 10:54 AM   #14
icanonlyimagine's Avatar
icanonlyimagine
Theres a Scent for that!
sitesupporter
seller
seller
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13,018
My Mood:
Re: Has anyone Labored Naturally through pitocin?

my friend Krystal did... I think she had pit with her last (she has 3) and she labored naturally and delievered naturally with the last one... I think she had an epi with her first
__________________
Jonita wife to Eric SAHMommy to Graceen 6/9/04, Mackenzie 2/27/08
HAVE YOU TRIED THE ALL NEWDONT FORGET THE ALWAYS AWESOME
icanonlyimagine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 11:01 AM   #15
h&jsmom's Avatar
h&jsmom
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 583
My Mood:
Re: Has anyone Labored Naturally through pitocin?

I was induced with DS2 and labored naturally. I didn't find the contractions to be that much worse than my first labor. I mentally prepared myself for the fact that the contractions would be worse before I went in, so that may have had something to do with it. I also used techniques from Bradley and hypnobirthing which helped out immensely. I didn't start having terrible pain until transition, but from the time I told my DH that I couldn't take it anymore until the time that the baby was born was only about 30-45 minutes. It was so well worth not using pain relief, I felt like I was able to work with my body instead of against it. I can't say enough good things about that birth experience. Just go in with a positive attitude and I'm sure you'll do just fine! Good luck!

ETA: There were different positions that I was able to use, albeit somewhat modified to allow for the monitoring equipment and that helped a lot. I was also able to get up to use the bathroom as long as DH came with, so I would try to get up every 45 minutes or so to use the bathroom and would stay up until they told me they needed to put the monitor back on. The nursing staff will probably try to work with you as best as they can, so try not to stress about that too much!
__________________
Mama to Motormouth (10), Monkeybutt (2), and Doodlebug (7mo)

Last edited by h&jsmom; 08-31-2007 at 11:12 AM. Reason: more info
h&jsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 11:50 AM   #16
kissum's Avatar
kissum
Registered User
sitesupporter
seller
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington, DC suburbs
Posts: 6,030
My Mood:
Re: Has anyone Labored Naturally through pitocin?

I did! I had a long labor (22 hours) and I did it pain med free. I was induced for medical reasons. I figure the next one will be a breeze after that.

I think the reason that I managed to do it was that I'd heard so many horror stories about labor, and I kept thinking it was going to get SO much worse. I told myself if it got to be unbearable, I'd think about the pain meds. And it really didn't get difficult until the very end, and then well, I was having a baby so it was too late LOL. You can do it! After what I expected, labor wasn't really that bad at all.
__________________
Ali, mama to 3 amazing monkeys.
Enjoying every day with the love of my life
Selling NON TOXIC EVERYTHING (Yes, it's CD safe!)
kissum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 12:02 PM   #17
JeDeeLenae's Avatar
JeDeeLenae
Registered Users
seller
seller
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vegas
Posts: 22,118
My Mood:
Re: Has anyone Labored Naturally through pitocin?

Maybe I'm in the minority here, but I labored naturally with pitocin at 41 weeks, for 8 hours. I went from 1 cm to 3 cm in those 8 hours, and I was in agonizing pain. I cried, I bit the bed rail, I wanted to give up. They finally broke down after I begged after every contraction. After getting the epidural, I was fully dlated within another 8 hours.

Hopefully, you have a very, very different experience, but I don't want you to feel like you fail by getting an epidural if the pain is too much. I've also had a mostly natural birth (1/4 shot of nubain, AROM) so I do know the difference. I couldn't even breathe during the pitocin ontractions.

So, my point is, go for it, but don't feel bad if you need an epidural.
__________________
~Cassie~ Single Mom to Jordan 9/04 and Jaxon 6/06 and Kelli 10/08 and 1/11 and Jevin 12/11
Check out my gallery! PM me for YYMN and other knitting needs.

JeDeeLenae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 12:05 PM   #18
clarinetb's Avatar
clarinetb
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada!
Posts: 3,761
My Mood:
Re: Has anyone Labored Naturally through pitocin?

We didn't get to the pitocin part. They decided to start an induction (10 days over and a bit of a worry with the NST and BPP). They used cervadel (sorry, can't remember the spelling) a little insert with prostoglandin gel up at your cervix to ripen your cervix the night before an induction. For some this starts things and for me it did! When it started, oh, boy. They kept me for two hours to monitor baby and make sure the heart rate was okay and then I went home.

So, if they are thinking of inducing, the methods for ripening the cervix can kick start labour. Apparently the prostoglandins more so than the foley cathetar if you have an option.

From there I did it natural, until baby wouldn't move and more and then I had more fun and interventions after 6 hours of pushing, but that is something completely different!
__________________
Lauren - Mama to our little poppet (21-01-07) and new cutie pie (23-08-11)!
clarinetb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 12:06 PM   #19
blessed with boys's Avatar
blessed with boys
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: under a pile of laundry
Posts: 1,029
My Mood:
Re: Has anyone Labored Naturally through pitocin?

I did...it was the worst pain I have ever experienced. It can be done.......but it "aint" fun. See if the Dr. will try breaking your water and waiting to see if your body starts labor on it own.

Last edited by blessed with boys; 08-31-2007 at 12:07 PM.
blessed with boys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 04:19 PM   #20
karlatta's Avatar
karlatta
Registered Users
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 400
Re: Has anyone Labored Naturally through pitocin?

I was induced with Cytotec/Pitocin. I had contractions every 3 minutes while on the Cytotec, for about 12 hours. I then started Pitocin and had contractions every 1.5 minutes for another 12 hours.

My water broke at that point (I was dilated to a 2) and I asked for Stadol. Within two hours, I was dilated to a 10, so it was obvious that I was having strong, powerful contractions at that point. My daughter was born after 40 minutes of pushing.

I probably could have made it without the Stadol had I not already been awake with contractions for 24 hours. (I'd actually been awake for around 42 hours by the time my water broke, but some of that was obviously before the contractions started.) I was just too tired to give it a shot.
__________________
Karla, mama to two great kids
Baby Boy - 5/06
Baby Girl - 8/07
karlatta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2005 - 2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.