Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 07-27-2006, 09:15 AM   #1
hollyhobby30
Registered Users
seller

Homeschoolers~need advice on taking the leap!

I've been researching HS for a couple years now. I've researched the different types of schooling styles and curriculum out there.

My 10 yo dd is still in PS as of this last year.

I also have a 5 yo that's supposed to start K this Fall. I've HS her for Pre-K and was pretty loose about it. I've also bought my 10 yo ACE, LFBC and CLE stuff to do over this Summer and last Summer. So far it seems to work great for us. She loves the workbook style and we both need that structure.

My question is how do you make that HUGE leap off the cliff and take them out of PS? I'm right on the edge. I know I could do it but.....

My 10 yo is on board with it but I'm scared TO DEATH I'm going to make a mistake and ruin her education. I'm not the best in math and science but have people that could help out. If I take her out now she wouldn't need to be tested until the end of her 8th grade year. I live in Oregon and the HSing laws are pretty good.

So do most feel this way at first?

Will it go away?

I don't want to take her out and then have her behind the PS kids. I've been sick to my stomach going over this again and again. I've asked God for guidance and pray about daily. I wish we lived back in the Little House on the Prairie days. Life was so much easier!

Help me ladies

Advertisement

hollyhobby30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 09:18 AM   #2
KnottyLDSMama
Peachy with a side of keen, that would be me
Formerly: Moonprysm
seller
seller

My Mood:
Re: Homeschoolers~need advice on taking the leap!

I think it's probably harder to transition from PS than if you start HSing from the beginning. We plan to homeschool right off, so unfortunately I don't have any advice on pulling the older child out. Just support. HSing is usually the best thing you can do for your child.