Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 12-09-2007, 08:26 AM   #1
Jubilee
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Stupid newbie question

I just read that breastfed babies have a bowel movement every time they breastfeed. I am new to both BF and CD and now I'm worried...do you have to change them (and poo at that) an insane amount of times? If so, how many diapers do you recommend for a BF/CD NB? Thanks!

Advertisement

and full-time student.

Last edited by Jubilee; 12-09-2007 at 08:29 AM.
Jubilee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2007, 08:31 AM   #2
MatildasMum
Registered
seller

My Mood:
Re: Stupid newbie question

First of all - it's not true that every BF baby poos after every nursing session. Some BF babies don't poo for DAYS at a time. Every baby is different.

Secondly, yes. Newborns require many, many, many changes. But that's ok! Your ONLY job in those first few weeks is to nurse, change and cuddle with baby. Enjoy it. It goes by so quickly.

MatildasMum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2007, 09:00 AM   #3
DDC
Registered Users

I agree. Enjoy it. EBF poop is actually not so bad. Ihad 36 pf's in my rotation with dd and we washed everyday for the first few months. Sometimes you go through 3-4 diapers in 10 minutes! Just think if you were paying for sposies at that rate!
Old 12-09-2007, 09:05 AM   #4
maryjane
Registered Users

Every breastfed baby does not poop every feeding, but they all poop more as newborns than they do later own because they eat more often. Breastfeeding poops aren't that bad. Don't stress about it, it only lasts a couple months anyway and then you'll be wondering what happened to your tiny baby.
maryjane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2007, 09:10 AM   #5
healthyMTmama
Registered Users