Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 01-11-2008, 01:25 PM   #1
ClothDiaperingMama
Registered Users
seller

Different type of Midwives...

What do you ladies think about the different types of midwives? Which do you think is better as far as what 'you' want out of your birth experience?

I am starting to think that I don't really like CNM {Certified Nurse Midwives} as they are basically very 'medical" based on what "I" think a midwife would be like. They deliver at hospitals and work closely with obs. I almost felt like talking with her that she WAS an 'ob'. I also don't get the same warm, fuzzy vibes I was getting from the LM {Licensed Midwives} that I spoke with yesterday.

I just don't see the point of me 'choosing' a CNM when they are so similar to the feeling I get with an ob. Is it just me that feels that way?
{Okay.. I'll admit that I am totally new to the midwife thing, but it really shocked me that they are so much more 'medical' thinking than I would have thought a 'midwife' would be like}.

I think I much rather prefer the LM as they seem more laid back and really wanting the woman to 'listen to her body". I also like the LMs because they do birth center and home births.

Any thoughts, experiences, or stories you would like to share on your midwives?

Advertisement

Old 01-11-2008, 01:34 PM   #2
ckdasho
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: Different type of Midwives...

My only experience is with CNMs. The practice I had was split between OBs and CNMs. To be honest, I felt that the majority of them were "medwives", especially the one who ended up helping me to deliver. (well, I ended up with an emergency c, so the OB actually delivered). There was one of them, who I LOVED, that went on maternity leave as soon as I was about to give birth. But, that probably wouldn't have mattered anyway. You got whoever was on-call for that day.