Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 04-06-2008, 06:34 AM   #1
turtle2who
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Question for those who have miscarried. . .

Has anyone here ever used Cytotec?

My doctor has offered it as an alternative to waiting for nature to take its course or a d&c. It is a suppository that one inserts in the morning and it causes things to move along quickly so the contents of the uterus are expelled and the worst of it is over while you are at home resting.

The benefits to me are that I wouldn't have to worry about it happening while I was at work- I am a teacher and cannot always get to the bathroom when I might like to. I have to ask another teacher to watch my class. I have visions of having to call the office and explain to someone what is going on because the bleeding is so heavy or something. I really don't want another d&c unless absolutely unavoidable- since I have had 3 already. But I am a little wary of Cytotec.

Can anyone share their experience with Cytotec?

Advertisement

Old 04-06-2008, 06:42 AM   #2
Thrice Blessed
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: Question for those who have miscarried. . .

First, I am sorry for your loss.

Do you have to have a D&C or can you let nature take it's course, as you mentioned?

This is the first I've heard of this med-when I had my mc, I was early enough to let things progress naturally.

Sorry I'm not more help.

Blessings~
Old 04-06-2008, 07:50 AM   #3
Miles
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:

So sorry for your loss hun. I didnt use it because all my miscarriages were natural. But I do know a few that used it and they said that it was much better then a D&C, but be warned it doesnt always make you do it natural you may still need to have a D&C.
Old 04-06-2008, 09:23 AM   #4
Jane456
Registered Users
Formerly: lindsaym
seller