Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 04-19-2008, 01:05 PM   #1
spacetygrss
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
WOHMammas,question

I plan to BF DS until he's 2 (or ready to stop). I'm a Resident Physician and work crazy hours (I'm at work right now!! LOL). Anyhow, I've been able to pump fine and people are even really nice about helping me get my pumping in. My concern is that they won't be quite as accomodating after he's one (not surprisingly, most of the other physicians don't even realize that you should BF until AT LEAST one year, let alone longer than that..they didn't exactly cover that in medical school). The other issue is that I don't really want to be tied to the pump after he's one..it got old a long time ago, but I still do it because I know that BFing is best for him.

So, what did you ladies do? Did you slow your pumping down some? If so, were you still able to maintain an adequate supply for your little one? I was thinking that I would pump before leaving home and then do a quick one at lunch. I would only pump more than that if I were on 24 hour in-house call.

I'm trying to prepare myself since he's almost 9 months now, so this situation will be real pretty soon.

Thanks.

Advertisement

Old 04-19-2008, 07:57 PM   #2
dds07
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: WOHMammas,question

Hi- I'm also a resident. I have a 7mo old little girl and I've got the same concern....they let me leave seminars early, schedule patients late, etc. now, but I'm a little concerned they are going to think I'm trying to skip out or that I'm being...I don't know what, but something like over protective after the 1 year mark. Our dean is very supportive, though, so if I get any flak I'm going to take it up with her.
Meggan, wife to Loren, mommy to Kate born 9.7.07, #2 Due in Feb 2012
dds07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 08:04 PM   #3
snookler
Registered Users
seller

My Mood: