Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 05-06-2006, 09:33 PM   #1
Shaysbabygirls
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Can someone please explain wool to me?

LOL!
I know that probably sounds crazy, but I'm clueless. I guess I just don't understand, because it's so HOT! We live in Central Texas and i just cannot fathom putting wool on my daughter.

Maybe it's because I don't understand it at all. I'm still pretty new to this whole cd thing, and so I don't understand why to use it. also, i have had a lot of wool sweaters in my day, and they're itchy and hot, and have to be dry cleaned or they'll shrink...

So, can you tell I'm a rookie? Please, someone, give me the ins and outs of wool! Share your wealth of knowledge

Thanks so much!
Shay

Advertisement

Shaysbabygirls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2006, 09:53 PM   #2
z2akids
Registered Users
seller

Re: Can someone please explain wool to me?

Well, wool can definitely keep you warm, and I don't think I'd use longies in a warm climate. But, wool is a natural fiber and breathes - like cotton breathes. So, as your baby's bum gets warm, the wool allows air to circulate. PUL on the other hand keeps all of the heat in which could be uncomfortable or rash causing in a warm climate.

Wool has to be hand washed (well, there are some covers that don't have to be), but does not have to be dry cleaned.

As for itchy - I can't even begin to describe to you the feel of some of the wool yarns that you can use to make soakers (knit/crocheted wool covers). Some are so incredibly soft that you would almost think they were silk or something more like that.
Old 05-06-2006, 10:57 PM   #3
Mrs Dimples
Registered Users

I'm new here, but not new to wool.