Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 06-19-2008, 11:22 AM   #1
iammommy
Registered Users

My Mood:
please help...

I am started to get really worried. I have been bfing dd with no problem now for over 6 months. This week ugly af decided to make her first visit. Now I think my supply is decreasing The reason I think this is b/c I have had to work a few days this week (I normally don't work) and so I have had to pump. Previous pumpings were yielding 3-4oz, now I am getting less than 2oz!
What can I do or take? My ds weaned himself at 9 months and I really want to make it at least 1 year with her, since I know she will be my last. I am so worried...

Advertisement

IDDSO: my sanity!
iammommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 11:30 AM   #2
junebug
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: please help...

if you've had no problem for 6 mos, you're probably fine
it'll go back to normal when you work less and nurse more. Try to relax, stress will just make things worse. Lie down and nap (or cosleep if you can) with your baby, it works wonders for your supply! And the amount you get when you pump is not a good indication of what your baby gets when nursing - babies are much more effective than pumps
junebug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 11:34 AM   #3
emitpan
Registered Users

My Mood:

I hope mamas with more experience will jump in here too. But when I had my AF return after dd was born, my supply would decrease for a few days and then return to normal after. This happened every month, until I became pregnant with ds (which was a whole other story, lol). My advice is to drink lots of water, eat oatmeal, maybe drink some mother's milk tea, and wait a few days. Hopefully you're just having a cyclical drop in production. (I think lots of mamas experience this!)
emitpan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 02:38 PM   #4
txmom72
Registered Users

My Mood: