Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 07-12-2008, 04:57 PM   #1
ouchienurse
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Question Daycare, what to do??

Hi there, I am a nurse 3 nights a week and my husband is a stay at home dad. Our daughter is 5 months old and we've had people tell us that when she starts crawling and getting things herself we should put her in daycare, even if it's just for a few hours a week, for socialization. Has anyone tried this? We thought about it and maybe 1-2 days a week for an hour or two while we go eat lunch or shopping. Is it necessary at this age? Does it really make that big of a difference? Any opinions, info, ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks mamas

Advertisement

Old 07-12-2008, 08:07 PM   #2
frogandtoad
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: Daycare, what to do??

IMO, that's just silly. Your LO gets plenty of "socialization" from being with you and DH. Really. That's just weird. I wouldn't pay for childcare just so LO could be with other people? It's really just a preference. I prefer to keep my babies with me as much as possible (GASP!) ESPECIALLY if I'm working and away often.

Plus, it's hard to find p/t childcare like you're talking about unless you have a "mommy's day out" program in your area (and if you do I'm jealous). Personally, I wouldn't waste my time and money on something like this. Besides daddy can take her to lap sit story time for FREE at the local library and the playground to "socialize" with others. JMO.
There are only two lasting bequests we hope to give our children; one is roots, the other wings.
frogandtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 09:21 PM   #3
ouchienurse
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:

Quote:
Originally Posted by frogandtoad View Post