Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 08-05-2008, 02:08 PM   #1
Meg678
Registered Users
seller

Foster Care question

My husband and I have been considering starting foster care for several years and now we think it's time. Before I go and see if we are able to, I was wondering, for those of you that have gone through the process, is it possible to set "limits", like we only would like a child under the age of 5. That's really the main thing, we don't care about anything else, it's just we're young ourselves and we have a young child and we feel it would be best if we could say we're open for kids under 5. Is that even possible??

Advertisement

Old 08-05-2008, 03:32 PM   #2
starstruck444
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: Foster Care question

Yep. We could be licensed for more but chose to only have 1 placement at a time (unless there are siblings) We also only do Newborns to 5 years old. They tell you that it isn't a good idea to disrupt the birth order in your family and our oldest is 6.
Old 08-05-2008, 04:03 PM   #3
Meg678
Registered Users
seller

Awesome! Also, are foster children aloud to share bedrooms with your own kids?
Old 08-05-2008, 04:11 PM   #4
ChocolateMoose
Registered Users
seller

Rules vary from state-to-state, but here you can specify exactly the kind of child you want (or don't want)....but they each need their own space 5 feet by 10 feet (two in a 10x10 room) and they can't share with your kids.
Old 08-05-2008, 05:28 PM   #5
jbaxter
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:

we are lic'd for all ages but only take newborn to 2yrs old for now.
Old 08-05-2008, 09:26 PM   #6
JenS
Registered Users

My Mood:

In our state foster kids can share with your kids, so I guess that is one of those state dependant issues.
We specified we'd be open to age 4 and younger, again not to disrupt birth order. They also allow you to specify what special needs and issues you are open to.