Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 08-19-2008, 02:18 PM   #1
mom2hancj
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Our first foster baby came to live with us Thursday

HEy you all!! I am thrilled to have a little bambino here with. It was quite a surprise. We are half way through our foster care classes but we knew this couple and so we considered a voluntary placement. Her name is Hailly but we are calling her by her first and middle names Hailly Reign. She is 2months old and tee tiny.

I have a few thoughts/concerns since this is my first time. The birth mom is young and has had two other children removed and she gave up her rights to both of them. She seems to be involved and want to work services this time. Her boyfriend is fairly violent and has thrown her through a window when she was pregnant. They have to have supervised visitation...I am hesitant to let him know where we live.

I would love to adopt a baby...esp a baby girl. And she would be wonderful. I am really struggling with the what ifs...what if they work services but don't really change and she will be in a pretty bad environment. My older kids have both asked if we can keep her "forever". I answer that we are able to love on her for now in hopes that her parents will get some stuff straight and she can go home to be with them.

Anywho...any wisdom or comfort would be great. I also have to add that going to sleepless nights all the sudden is a big change as well. Whew I am tired. We homeschool and I am having to take the week off to adjust.

Here is a pic of her...not the best b/c I too am figuring out how to take pics to share that aren't full face shots. The second one is a not so good pic of me but I wanted to show off the moby wrap I came up with real quick. There were drugs involved with her and she is kinda fussy...the baby wearing helps a lot.

Advertisement

Old 08-19-2008, 02:38 PM   #2
starstruck444
Registered Users
seller

My Mood: