Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!
Old 08-20-2008, 09:08 PM   #1
Registered Users
My Mood:
Just wondering what some of you think of this...

This is quite a long story so I apologize in advance but need to give you some background. I am a single mother by choice. I adopted my son through the foster care system 11 years ago. I am a NICU nurse and he was a patient in our unit who required at liver and small intestine transplant. I took him home at 5mos old and he had his transplant at 16mos old. I waited several years to pursue parenting another child because his health issues were so complicated and time consuming but I have always desperately wanted at least one more child. Finally about 4 years ago I started trying to get pregnant. I got pregnant in Nov. 2006 with my daughter via IVF. Unfortunately I had an amnio (I am 39) at 15 1/2 weeks and my water broke with it. I spent the rest of the pregnancy on bedrest and Emily was born at 35w5d but only lived 40minutes. I waited the required 6mos and had another IVF this past January and am currently 32w pregnant with a boy.

I renewed my foster license a couple of years ago knowing that if the IVF route failed traditional domestic adoption would take years. After my daughter passed away I reminded them that I was still interested in adopting a baby girl at any time even if I got pregnant and I've had a couple of calls but nothing that has worked out.