Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 02-16-2009, 07:16 PM   #1
AshB
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Is this normal?

Hi everyone, my little guy was born on thursday and my milk is just coming in. He's been nursing really well, I'm pretty sure we're positioned well and he latches well, but I'm new to this too, so not sure, but we did see and get some tips from the LC in the hospital. Anyway, my nipples hurt so bad when he first latches on, it goes away in a couple minutes, or at least I'm not as sensitive to it after a few minutes. They are very red, and also my breasts seem really hot. Are all of these things normal?

Advertisement

AshB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 07:21 PM   #2
Lily's Mamma
Registered Users
Formerly: katie_guido
seller

My Mood:
Re: Is this normal?

Consider yourself lucky that it goes away after a few minutes! When dd was getting started I was cracked and bleeding and it was agonizing through the whole thing every time she ate . It is normal to have a bit of discomfort in the beginning and it should go away as you both get more used to nursing. Congratulations mamma!!
Old 02-16-2009, 07:25 PM   #3
MommyOj
Registered Users

This is totally normal. You can go to any drugstore and get a product called "soothies". You put 'em in the freezer and then stick them in your bra next to your breasts right after baby is done nursing. It will help the soreness. I also reccomend lansino (which you can buy at target) which you rub on when babe is done.

The pain should go away within a week or two. Just curl your toes when babe latches on and know that it won't be forever.
MommyOj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 07:25 PM   #4
sillymama
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood: