Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 03-11-2009, 06:45 PM   #1
jraejohnson
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
circ question

ok so i will make a long story short my first 2 boys are circed but after much research i did not circ my newest addition. anyways he is having surgery in may for a multicystic diplastic kidney basically it no longer funnctions anyways he is on daily antibiotics we went to a nephrologist a pediatric one she asked if he was circed i said no she then looked at his privates and said his foreskin was very tight and this may causes issues and he should be circed??what should i do? is "tight" foreskin normal....i have no prior experience with an intacr boy so i don't know what is normal or is this dr full of you know wgat

sorry for any typos

Advertisement

Old 03-11-2009, 07:37 PM   #2
SarahOxley
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: circ question

I'd say if you really want to know you want to talk to a urologest (spelling is wrong haha). they know that area best. and get a pedi one. gl mama
Old 03-11-2009, 07:38 PM   #3
MamaSpi
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:

Hello Mama -

A tight, non retractile foreskin is 100% normal in a baby and often well into childhood. As long as your son can urinate, his foreskin is fine. If he enters puberty and is unable to retract it, then you may want to look into steroid cream and/or stretching exercises. Most likely though, it won't be an issue. The tightness of the foreskin is what protects the penis from infection. If the foreskin is retracted prematurely, that protection is lost - opening up the penis to infection. As far as what to do? If it were me, I would definitely not circ him and maybe print out some info about the normal anatomy of the intact infant for the medical staff. Make sure you are very clear that you don't want the circ done because I am sure they will pressure you to do it "while he's out".

I hope your son has a safe and successful surgery