Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 05-18-2006, 01:43 PM   #1
greenkmt
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
How many CD?

I am brand new to cloth diapering and my son is 18 months. With disposables, I don't change him but about 5 times a day. (It seems like he goes all at once or none at all. My question to all of you is how many cloth diapers should I get? BTW I am planning on getting Fuzzi Bunz. Any suggestions for CD. Like how do you clean them out, do you just put them in a bucket and clean them later... etc.

Thanks,

Misti

Advertisement

greenkmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 02:03 PM   #2
toryandrew
Registered Users
seller

Re: How many CD?

It all depends on how often you want to wash. If it's 2 or 3 days get like, 20. If you want to wash daily you'd only need like, 7. I put my dipes into a wetbag (not literally wet just a bag that does not leak the pee and poop into the outside and keeps the smells in) and wash every 2 to 4 days and I have no willpower at all so I have 32 diapers. This also includes my daycare stash of 7-9 diapes I keep there.
toryandrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 02:48 PM   #3
masonite
Whip Crackin Wagon Driver!
seller

My Mood:

I started out with 12 Fuzzi Bunz. We didnt'/don't have a lot of money, so that was a huge investment for us!

But, it worked great! My son is 15 months old, so I don't change nearly as often as I would if he were younger. With 12 dipes I was doing a load of dipes sometimes every day, but usually every other day.

Since then I have been slowly building my stash when/if I can. Just buying one dipe at a time, or trying different kinds, etc.

I bought a regular old diaper pail from Target for like $8. It has a fliptop lid, and a little "disk" spot--to put a pail deodarizer in. I line mine with garbage liners, because I haven't had the money to buy a wetbag liner.