Closed Thread Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2009, 02:09 PM   #11
Black Tree Knits's Avatar
Black Tree Knits
Registered Users
Formerly: theprettyredhead
seller
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lebanon, Ohio
Posts: 4,852
Re: Virus Again...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LilMamaK View Post
try using Firefox instead of IE and install the add-on "Adblocker Plus" - pages load faster and I've not had "the" virus pop-up since
I do this, in conjunction with a free online program called AVG. Since using them, I have had no problems.

*knocks on wood*

Advertisement

__________________
Black Tree Knits

Black Tree Knits is offline  
Old 03-26-2009, 02:35 PM   #12
mhaddon's Avatar
mhaddon
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 13,479
Re: Virus Again...

I highly recommend using firefox So much better than IE and free to download
__________________
Melissa, mama to 4
Yummy yarn FS! PL HUGE Destash
PM me about YYMN spots!
mhaddon is offline  
Old 03-26-2009, 02:59 PM   #13
KobeeJacknGradysMama's Avatar
KobeeJacknGradysMama
Lovin' My Baby Boys
seller
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western NY
Posts: 7,169
My Mood:
Re: Virus Again...

i too haven't had problems since i started using firefox as well
__________________
Sinthea mama to Kobee, Jackson, Grady and Sullivan!!
KobeeJacknGradysMama is offline  
Old 03-26-2009, 03:18 PM   #14
shel*bel's Avatar
shel*bel
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 8,526
My Mood:
Re: Virus Again...

I do use firefox at home but some web-based applications at work aren't supported by firefox so I have to have ie here. I have not had any further problems at home since the big DS "clean up".
__________________
Shelly ~ Wife to R & Mommy to J (17), A (9) & A (4)
shel*bel is offline  
Old 03-26-2009, 03:37 PM   #15
naomi's mama
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,681
Re: Virus Again...

I already have firefox on my computer and am using it. How do I "activate" or add the "adblocker"? (Sorry, I'm clueless).
naomi's mama is offline  
Old 03-26-2009, 03:43 PM   #16
Sweet_Fantasy_Fox
No Longer Here
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ~*West Coast*~
Posts: 61,873
My Mood:
Re: Virus Again...

If anything else pops up, please get a screen shot. The techs have been working hard to keep ds clean and virus free. Hopefully nobody else has any problems.
Sweet_Fantasy_Fox is offline  
Old 03-26-2009, 06:01 PM   #17
ive's Avatar
ive
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Midwest :)
Posts: 2,461
My Mood:
Re: Virus Again...

Hi, I have a ? as well. I'm seeing on the top where ads are suppose to come up there is 1 warning:mysql_connect()Functionmysql-connect:lost connection to mysql server at 'reading initial communication packet',system error 113in. I'm also not able to see everyone's Avatar. . I'm getting concerned on this virus thing. I have 3 virus blockers but wonder if all the bugs are worked out yet on DS. I don't feel like getting a Trojan from ds
__________________
Single mother of a Daring/Energetic/handful 5 year old Little man.

Last edited by ive; 03-26-2009 at 06:07 PM.
ive is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 09:08 AM   #18
shel*bel's Avatar
shel*bel
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 8,526
My Mood:
Re: Virus Again...

okay, so I did a screen shot like Sinthea said but it came out like a b/w negative.

Anyway, here it is.


If anyone wants to let me know what I'm doing wrong on the screen shot, that'd be awesome.
__________________
Shelly ~ Wife to R & Mommy to J (17), A (9) & A (4)
shel*bel is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 10:30 AM   #19
naomi's mama
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,681
Re: Virus Again...

I googled "firefox block ads" and was able to download the adblocker add on. Everything runs much faster now. Thanks!!
naomi's mama is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 03:39 AM   #20
*Amanda*
Registered Users
seller
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 449
My Mood:
Re: Virus Again...

Yes, something is definitely back... I just got this popup a few minutes ago:


I'm using Firefox. It popped up as soon as I loaded DS. I couldn't see DS anymore... it overtook the whole browser. I went to the task manager and closed it out.
__________________
DD #1 born 9/06. DD #2 born at home 1/09. Baby boy born at home 6/10.
*Amanda* is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2005 - 2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.