Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 12-13-2006, 09:42 PM   #1
heathersgirls
Registered Users
seller

Hosting a kids party...Any tips?

My older dd is turning 4 in a week and a half and we are having her first kiddo party this weekend...I am excited but of course want her and her friends to have a great time... As I have NEVER done this before I am looking for advice.....Does anyone have any tips on kid parties? Just need some pointers .

Thanks~Heather

Advertisement

Old 12-13-2006, 09:59 PM   #2
ahisma
Registered Users
seller
seller

Re: Hosting a kids party...Any tips?

We love b-day parties here! This year we cut back to 7 guests, but in past years we've invited her entire class (not at our house though...it's not big enough)

How many kids are you inviting? Do you have a theme? Are parents staying? (they often do at that age). Is it at your house?

Have lots of stuff planned...at that age they are counting on you to entertain them. I've hired a magician in the past...just a high school kid for $50. He was such a hit that we hired him for our wedding too! You don't need to get nearly that extravagant though, I just did that to make life easier on me

Google and find some games for that age. Not games that takes supplies, things like red light green light, Simon Says, stuff like that. You probably won't play them all, but I really like to have something "up my sleeve" to fill the time.

Have something for them to do when they arrive, even just printed out sheets to color work well...just something so they can come in, feel welcome, and keep busy.

When your DD opens gifts, have her sit in a chair by herself, with another chair next to her. Have the person giving the gift bring it up to her and sit in the chair next to her, and make sure she thanks them before they get up. I like to take a pic of DD and each guest with the gift, we send them out in thank you notes.