Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 05-26-2009, 01:16 PM   #1
sciencedancer
Registered Users

After the birth of twins??

Hello,
I am new to DS (a new addiction!) and am expecting twin boys due Sept 7th. I went to a class last week about what will happen in the hospital etc, it is the hospital policy to wake me/babies up every 4 hours to nurse. From all of the advice I have read, most recommend trying to feed the babies at the same time. So, will they bring me both babies at the same time or one at a time? Any mamas out there who have been there done that? Thanks

Advertisement

sciencedancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 01:52 PM   #2
nrscaren
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
Re: After the birth of twins??

I had twin boys almost 20 months ago and after birth, the hospital staff wanted me to nurse them separate every 3 hrs. They did wake me up when the time was up. I did this for 2 days, but then figured out how to do them together. I have a son older than the twins, so i had BF experience. Nursing together definitely saves time although it gets harder when they get older b/c they are more distractable.
nrscaren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 08:40 PM   #3
mgl
Registered Users
seller
seller

I am an RN on a mother/baby unit. At our hospital, we will do whatever you want us to. If you want both babies at the same time we will bring them, if you want one at a time we will do that, or if you want them to stay in the room with you it is fine. We have had moms who put both twins in the same crib, and just the one crib is wheeled back and forth between the nursery and mom's room. I will say that in my 4 years on this unit I have only seen one mom be able to nurse twins at the same time while at the hospital. Usually it is one at a time until the mom and babies figure out what they are doing. It would be great if you could nurse them both at the same time, a great goal to have. Good luck.