Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 05-27-2009, 07:12 AM   #1
nikichickee
Registered Users
Formerly: AidyBabysMomma
seller

My Mood:
Donation offer ... awkward situation?

My gf gave birth to her second DS two days after Cara was born and has been having some supply issues since her little guy is having trouble waking to feed. I have been dealing with an oversupply and am pumping 12ozs or more a day just to alleviate SOME pressure from engorgement (i know this is encouraging more production but I am at a high risk for mastitis according to the LC so I am reducing pumping times with each feed). I suggested a SNS or Lact-aid to help supplement at the breast because she was told by the pedi to give a bottle. I also offered her some of the pumped milk I have to supplement with as opposed to using formula and it totally made an awkward situation. This is my first time carrying out a successful nursing relationship and I am not that well-versed in breast-etiquette so PLEASE let me know if I was out of line to offer such a thing. Now please understand that we are very close friends, our husband went to HS together and both volly for the same fire department. Our older son's are one month apart and now our second kiddos 2 days. I just thought it would be a kind gesture considering I am making plenty to store for my DD regardless of being a SAHM that probably won't even touch the stash so I hate to see it sitting there unused. Not to mention she is well aware of the benefits of BM vs formula so was I wrong to assume she would want the best for her LO? Eekk how would you handle this one?

Advertisement

Old 05-27-2009, 07:22 AM   #2
JessieV
Registered Users
seller
seller

My Mood:
Re: Donation offer ... awkward situation?

I think that really nice of you to offer, not out of line at all!

My knit gallery My Ravelry
JessieV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 07:23 AM   #3
katsdna
Registered Users
seller