Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 05-28-2009, 09:01 AM   #1
cpicard
Registered Users

My Mood:
Is ammonia DANGEROUS???

I walked into my son's bedroom this morning... and it smelled like somebody dumped a bottle of chemical cleaner all over his bedding etc. Horrible. It was even making my eyes water when changing him. I am new to cloth diapering and recently purchased used diapers. We have mostly all fuzzi bunz. I washed them- but this was the first time using this particular diaper. Maybe it was one with previous ammonia issues? All new to me... anyway- I wasn't sure if this was dangerous for my son to be breathing in. I just went into his room and after three hours of changing him... the bedroom still smells terrible! (I stripped the bed and everything!)

Also- It seems like no matter what I add for inserts- microfiber with an additional hemp... both kiddos (6 mo. and 1 1/2 yrs) are still leaking out. I am afraid if this continues, I might have to quit cloth diapering.

Please help! Thanks!

Advertisement

cpicard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 09:27 AM   #2
snugsboutique
Registered Users
seller

Re: Is ammonia DANGEROUS???

That is the problem with used diapers. Sometimes the PUL loses it's water risitence and you may need to spray them with some waterproofing spay (camping section at the department store) or just buy new ones. You could try using covers too. Also make sure the leg elastics are firm ( but not too frim) and are up around the groin area (not down around the thigh).

Did you open the window in his room and try a fan? I've had this happen before too. I don't think ammonia is that bad in small doses.

P.S. you could stip the diapers too, there are lots of good threads on how to do this.
snugsboutique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 10:24 AM   #3
mom2ally06
Registered Users
seller

other than burning the skin i dont think so
Old 05-28-2009, 10:53 AM   #4
Minniebees
Registered Users