Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 01-03-2007, 06:30 PM   #1
geez0pete
Registered Users
Formerly: sm***ff

My Mood:
My bread didn't rise!

I followed the recipe but the bread barely rose. I baked it anyway and it's so hard I could knock someone out with it. I've never tried bread before so I have no clue what I did wrong. How long does it take to double it's size, anyway. The recipe said "awhile" and I waited a few hours. The recipe called for 4 1/2-5 1/2 c. flour but how do you know? Maybe I used too much...

Advertisement

geez0pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 06:36 PM   #2
Blackbirdlane
Registered Users
seller

Re: My bread didn't rise!

what kind of yeast did you use??

when I first started making bread I didn't know that I had to put the packet of yeast in warm water to activate it. that makes a difference.

also where did you put it to rise? did you put it in a warm spot with a towel on top? you can use a dry or a damp towel, I have heard it done both ways.
Old 01-03-2007, 06:51 PM   #3
geez0pete
Registered Users

My Mood:

After bringing the milk and oil to a boil, I turned of the heat off and added rolled oats. I added molasses, salt, and a packet of fast rise yeast (I didn't know what to choose at the store) after the milk was lukewarm. Beat for 2 min. and add flour slowly. Knead for 8-10 min. I left the dough in the bowl to rise and only covered it with a towel maybe an hour later because I remember seeing it done somewhere. :smiley

Old 01-03-2007, 07:02 PM   #4
dirtdartwife
YouTube Junkie and Thread-Hijacker... watch your threads.
seller

My Mood:

depending on your location (in an area that is super dry or humid)... your flour might be dry.