Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 02-19-2010, 05:50 AM   #1
Gizmo516
Registered Users
seller

My Mood:
KNitters- I need your help!

I am in the midst of trying to make a pair of striped longies...I just learned to knit in December so I'm a beginner, however I did finish a pair of capris a couple of weeks ago (my first project) with no major issues. However this pair is giving me fits. It seems that where I change colors (at the beginning of the round) I am getting a huge (and very noticeable) ladder that continues up the work. It doesn't happen until after I change colors and I think it might have something to do with the way I am doing it (mainly just picking up the new color and knitting with it, and trying to carry the yarn). I have searched and searched for answers but ladders seem more common with DPNs and most of the answers apply to them, where I'm using a circular needle.

Does anyone know how to avoid this when changing colors??

TIA!!

-Rach

Advertisement

Old 02-19-2010, 06:08 AM   #2
NoellaBelle
Registered Users

My Mood:
Re: KNitters- I need your help!

When I do stripes, I twist the yarn together a few times and pull a little on the old color (not too much). I also do a jogless jog to make the changes less noticeable. I'm guessing the laddering is that the old color isn't twisted with the new and taut enough, which is giving too much space between your stitches.

Here are a couple links that may help.

http://www.socknitters.com/kickback/joglessjog.htm

http://www.purlbee.com/rochefort-cha...the-round.html
Old 02-19-2010, 06:10 AM   #3
deputy465
Registered Users
seller
seller

You are knitting in the round....so the rounds aren't going to match up they are jsut going to keep stacking.....however there is an easy little trick. Google jogless stripes. or maybe I can link it for you

http://techknitting.blogspot.com/200...s-stripes.html

Let me know if this doesn't help!

Brittany

Stitching Up A Storm