Reply Hey Mom! Learn more about the Gerber Life Insurance Grow-Up Plan!

Old 05-03-2010, 11:22 AM   #1
Winter
Registered Users
seller

DH is doing a very risky job right now...

My Dh is a welder by trade. He takes such pride in his work and has the cleanest looking welds many have ever seen (teachers & supervisors included). The project he is working on right now involves a tunnel being bored through Seymour Mountain to create a water line for BC Hydro. There was a cave-in in the mine on April 16th, and he, along with the 4 other on-site welders have been sent down to fix the Tunnel Boring Machine underground. To get there, they must take some kind of lift 750 feet below the surface, then travel on mine carts for about 5 km. They then have to crouch and waddle for quite some distance to get to where the TBM is. After they get there, DH has to suit up and twist & contort his body into a space that squeezed his chest so snugly yesterday, he had to tell himself to quit breathing so hard so he could fit inside. Once in there, he has to weld. The air quality down there is something to be desired, because the blower that is supposed to be bringing in the fresh air is broken. The welding gives off lots of smoke, and he finds it difficult to breathe. He has a few burns on his neck already, which is par for the course if you're a welder, but the whole setup gives me the heebie jeebies!